Arty repairs and free fixes!

6 Jul

I stumbled across this guy as I was Googling The Repair Workshops to make sure we were at the top of the list (don’t judge me), and oh how I smiled for the joys of being alive and finding kindred spirits over the other side of the world!

Repair by Roland Roos

Roland Roos embarked on a two-year long project (2008-2010) where he fixed things in the public sphere.

“Each repair is intended to restore a particular detail to its pre-damaged state. Before and after the repair a photograph is taken of the unsolicited assignment. The photo taken before the repair is the only existing document of the damaged objects and thus becomes a unicum. All of these unicum photos are on sale for 320CHF each which is the average amount of money that is spent for one repair.”

Jan Vormann is another artist worthy of my ‘smile and sigh’ award for awesomeness – he spent three years travelling the world fixing crumbling walls and monuments with Lego.

Jan Vormann's repair work

Jan says “My work draws attention to the smallest parts of our cities that are falling apart because of the brightness of the Lego.”

I also came across Juliana Santacruz Herrera who has taken it upon herself to fix the sidewalks of Paris with brightly coloured coiled fabric – these are so beautiful and so exciting, I think the blog I found it on sums it up quite nicely; I’m Jealous of Juliana Santacruz Herrera!

Juliana Santacruz Herrera's Repaired Sidewalks of Paris

On a more practical level (though far less beautiful) are these free bike repair stations set up in Cambridge as part of a program to encourage more people to ride bikes. I’d like to see the City of Melbourne set some of these up next to the Melbourne Bike Share stations around Melbourne – anyone agree?!

Free Bike Repair Stations in Cambridge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

